About Our School
Our school site is located at 9601 Prince William Street in Manassas, Virginia. It is an example of educational change and growth for over 100 years. Our founder was Jennie S. Dean, the daughter of Charles and Annie Dean, born in Sudley Springs, Virginia. The legacy began in 1893 when Jennie Dean had a dream to build an industrial or vocational school where Black children could learn a useful trade. In spite of numerous attempts and tragedies, the Manassas Industrial School continued to thrive and matured to serve approximately 500 students. Boys learned valuable trades such as agriculture, carpentry, masonry, electricity, plumbing and welding. Girls became proficient in cooking, sewing and gardening. The school survived throughout Jennie Dean's life. Jennie Dean remained involved in the various aspects of the school until her death on May 3, 1913. The school continued to educate its young black students after her death. In 1938 Prince William, Fairfax, and Fauquier Counties agreed to purchase the institution and operated it as a regional high school for Blacks. The City of Manassas established its own public school system in 1977. Jennie Dean became a middle school. Thirteen years later, Jennie Dean was renovated and reopened as an elementary school. Our school campus is unique with its historical site.
Our school is home to preschool through fourth grades, to include special education and ESOL programs. Our curriculum is aligned with the Standards of Learning as set forth by the Virginia Department of Education and the City of Manassas Public Schools Program of Studies. The legacy of Jennie Dean continues with a rich heritage. We are proud Jennie Dean Dolphins!